Chairman's Welcome

Firstly, Welcome to Kilburn Parish Council's Website.  Below are some details on how Kilburn was formed.

The origins of the name KILBURN date back to Danish times when the village was known as CYLLA's BURN, meaning "Silver Stream". Cylla was a mythical Danish figure and the stream was so called because of its fast flowing and glistening appearance. The stream from which the name was derived could have been one of three that flowed through the village at that time. One flowed through the grounds of Kilburn Hall, while another descended from Morrells Wood to Rawson Green, but it was more likely to be Bottle Brook, (Bottolph's Brook?). By 1162 Kilburn was being referred to as KYLEBURN, clearly derived from its Danish name Cylla's Burn. It is known that the name Kyleburn was in general use in 1445, but by 1600 it had become KILBURNE although there are many instances of the name KILBOURNE recorded before the present spelling was adopted in 1900 when the "O" and "E" were dropped.


David Hall, Chairman

David Hall, Chairman

Eric Hetherington.jpg
Cllr Eric Hetherington
Vice Chair

17 Highfield Road, Kilburn

Tel: (01332) 881354

Mark Jones

2nd Grade

Meet Our Councillors

Cllr David Hall
Cllr David Earnshaw

Tel: 01332 881492

Tel: 07967 550158

K Parker_edited.png
Cllr Kelly Parker

Tel: 07877 356262

Cllr Carl Riley

Tel: 07889 980195

Cllr Barbara Lambert

Tel: 01332 882203

Cllr Tracey Bailey

Tel: 07900 616968

Cllr Megan Hill

Tel: 07375 505207

Cllr Eric Hetherington

Tel: 01332 881354

Meet Our Council Staff

Sheila Matthews
mark johnson_edited.png
Mark Johnson
Parish Warden

Tel: 01332 671513